Narration Group. Logo including a circle, an eye and a hand

Narration Group, 2019

Narration Group is a collective of women and non-binary people of colour who meet fortnightly at the South London Gallery to discuss, dissect and reclaim their narratives.

Through kitchen table discussions, readings and collaborative curatorial projects, the group inhabits and reimagines institutional spaces and social structures. They focus on understanding and unpicking the intersectional forms of discrimination which people of colour encounter, and ways to engage collectively and critically with these experiences. The group provides a space for alternative collective learning through the lenses of queer theory, black feminist thought and diasporic perspectives.


In May 2019, Narration Group presented its first public programme in conjunction with the SLG’s 2019 Local History Weekend. The group hosted a collective reading of Audre Lorde’s The Master’s Tools Will Never Dismantle the Master’s House, and presented a film programme and reading room highlighting texts exploring the concept of PERIPHERY as navigated by people of colour.

The film programme included short films by: Amrou Al-Kadhi, Jessica Ashman, Shawanda Corbett, Alnoor Dewshi, Ufuoma Essi, Deborah Findlater, Evan Ifekoya, Jessie McLaughlin, Ese Onojeruo, Shamica Ruddock, and Michelle Williams Gamaker.


Between August and November 2019, Narration Group presented CURRICULUM, an archive display and fortnightly public programme culminating in the publication of A Curriculum for Collective Practice. Click here to read the publication.

Staged in the Fire Station Archive, the fortnightly workshops and public events were led by Cherelle Sappleton, Giulia Shah, Rita Gayle, Jacob V Joyce, Michelle Williams Gamaker and Nydia A. Swaby. Traces from these events were archived in real time in the archive room by London-based illustrator Olivia Twist, alongside transcriptions from each event.


For more information about Narration Group, please contact

Narration Group are: Amy Leung, Cherelle Sappleton, Davinia-Ann Robinson, Jessica Ashman, Jessie McLaughlin, Leah Morris, Ese Onojeruo, Shamica Ruddock, Olivia Barnett-Naghshineh, Olivia Twist and Ufuoma Essi.

Supported by the National Lottery Heritage Fund

UPDATE The SLG is temporarily closed. Click here for more information.